top of page

Phoenix Critics Circle Nominees 2018

The Phoenix Critics Circle proudly announces nominees for its annual awards. Members have narrowed the films from 2018 to the top nominees in each category. Voting is underway for the winners and they will be announced on Saturday, December 15th, 2018.

Best Picture

 The Favourite

 First Reformed

 Roma

 A Star is Born

 Vice

Best Comedy Film

 Eighth Grade

 The Favourite

 Game Night

 Sorry to Bother You

 Vice

Best Science Fiction Film

 Annihilation

 A Quiet Place

 Ready Player One

 Sorry to Bother You

 Upgrade

Best Horror Film

 Halloween

 Hereditary

 Mandy

 Quiet Place

 Suspiria

Best Animated Film

 The Incredibles 2

 Isle of Dogs

 Miral

 Ralph Breaks the Internet

 Spider-Man: Into the Spiderverse

Best Foreign Language Film

 Burning

 Cold War

 Dogman

 Roma

 Shoplifters

Best Documentary

 Free Solo

 Minding the Gap


 Three Identical Strangers

 Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Best Movie Based on a Comic Book or Graphic Novel

 Ant-Man and the Wasp

 Avengers: Infinity War

 Black Panther

 Deadpool 2

 Spider-Man: Into the Spiderverse

Best Actor

 Christain Bale, Vice

 Bradley Cooper, A Star is Born

 Ethan Hawke, First Reformed

 Rami Malek, Bohemian Rhapsody

 John David Washington, BlacKkKlansman

Best Actress

 Yalitza Aparicio, Roma

 Olivia Coleman, The Favourite

 Toni Collette, Hereditary

 Lady Gaga, A Star is Born

 Melissa McCarthy, Can You Ever Forgive Me

Best Supporting Actor

 Mahershala Ali, Green Book

 Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansman

 Richard E Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me?

 Michael B Jordan, Black Panther

 Sam Rockwell, Vice

Best Supporting Actress

 Amy Adams, Vice

 Claire Foy, First Man

 Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk

 Emma Stone, The Favourite

 Rachel Weisz, The Favourite

Best Director

 Alfonso Cuaron, Roma

 Yorgos Lanthimos, The Favourite

 Spike Lee, Blackkklansman

 Adam McKay, Vice

 Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best Screenplay

 Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade

 Deborah Davis & Tony McNamara, The Favourite

 Spike Lee, David Robinowitz, Charlie Wachtel and Kevin Willmott, BlacKkKlansman

 Adam McKay, Vice

 Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best Score

 Nicholas Britell, If Beale Street Could Talk

 Alexandre Desplat, Isle of Dogs

 Ludwig Goransson, Black Panther

 Justin Hurwitz, First Man

 Thom Yorke, Suspiria

The Phoenix Critics Circle is established as an association for professional film critique and analysis. Administered by the non-profit Phoenix Film Foundation, the Phoenix Critics Circle is committed to the progression and preservation of film and is composed of print, television, radio and internet film critics from Arizona.


bottom of page